Department Colloquia

Please note: All colloquia will take place remotely, in accordance with the campus' COVID-19 policy. If you would like to be notified of the Zoom URL/Id/password for a specific event, please contact Maria Zimmer.

Fall 2020

Friday, November 13 @  9:00am
Idan LandauBen-Gurion University of the Negev - Israel
Title: A Selectional Criterion for Adjunct Control
Abstract

Friday, November 20 @ 1:20pm
Donka Farkas, UC Santa Cruz
Title: Canonical and Non-canonical Speech Acts
Abstract

Friday, December 4 @ 1:20pm
Adrian Staub, University of Massachusetts
Title: Word frequency and predictability effects in reading:  Some outstanding puzzles
Abstract

Friday, December 11 @ 1:20pm
Rebecca Tollan, University of Delaware
Title: Competing argument privileges in Niuean
Abstract

 

Winter 2021

Tuesday, January 26 @ 9:00am
Nicholas Rolle, Leibniz-ZAS
Title: Grammatical Tone Allomorphy and Interface Phonology
Abstract

Wednesday, February 3 @ 1:30pm
Eric Bakovic, UC San Diego
Title: Assembly required: insights from phonological interaction
Abstract

Wednesday, February 10 @ 1:30pm
Rachel Walker, USC
Title: Segments Deconstructed
Abstract

Wednesday, February 17 @ 1:30pm
John Alderete, Simon Fraser University
Title: The phonology of speech errors
Abstract

Wednesday, February 24 @1:30pm
Mary Paster, Pomona College
Title: Counting and learning bias in phonology
Abstract

Saturday, March 6
Linguistics at Santa Cruz - LASC 2021

Time: 1:30 - 5:40pm
Program

 

Spring 2021

Friday, April 2 @ 1:20pm
Ora Matushansky, CNRS (Centre National de Recherche Scientifique, France)
Title: The case of French places
Abstract

Thursday, April 9 @ 1:20pm
Kathryn Davidson, Harvard
Title: Dynamic signing space, pronouns, and continuous disambiguation
Abstract

Friday, April 16 and Saturday, April 17
Spring Research Symposium 2021
Time: TBA

Friday, April 23 @ 9:00am
Michelle SheehanAnglia Ruskin University - UK
Title: TBA
Abstract

Friday, May 21 @ 1:20pm
Roumyana Pancheva, USC
Title: TBA
Abstract

Linguistics Undergraduate Research Conference - LURC 2021
Date: TBA
Time: TBA
Program